The Man Behind the Magic

Our president, Craig, was kind enough to take a few minutes and answer our "getting to know you" questions.

What song do you currently have on repeat: Shakedown Street, Grateful Dead, October 7, 1980, Warfield Theatre.  Best “Shakedown” ever IMHO.  I have been a Deadhead since high school and saw a couple dozen shows or more from ‘84-‘94.  I had many great adventures and made many friendships along the way.

What's your favorite meal? I love to BBQ, especially baby back ribs, or pork shoulder for pulled pork, slow cooked in the smoker.  It makes the backyard smell great all day on the weekend and of course it is delicious with a cold beer.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why? I don’t think I have found that place yet, but I enjoy traveling.  My family spends a lot of time in Northern Michigan, which is a wonderful area.  My wife and I have taken a few cycling vacations, and I would have to say central Italy was my favorite destination so far.  It is full of beautiful old rural villages, and is so relaxing, not to mention the incredible food.  There are quite a few places that are still on my bucket list and I really enjoy traveling around the US as well.

What is your biggest accomplishment? I Rode “The Assault on Mt. Mitchell” three years in a row.  A 100+ mile bike ride, 12,000 feet of climbing, about 2500 riders, some pro-caliber.  The events were unbelievable, and so were the many hours of training rides with my friends.  I didn’t do it as fast as some, but I did it.

What is your most prized possession? A visit to the guitar store for me is what I call a trip to the “orphanage”.  I tell my wife “they deserve good homes”.  Sometimes they come home for a while, but I usually sell them, and I don’t really consider myself a collector.  I have a few good ones.  I have one Martin guitar I have owned for over 15 years that I play a lot, and will never give up.  It was an anniversary present from my wife.

What are three things most people don't know about you?

1. I play in a band that plays out about once a month (best mid-life crisis ever).

2. I do a lot of boating with my family, who are all accomplished skiers, wakeboarders or hydrofoilers, so we have a pretty good time with that.

3. I met my wife when I was 13 (this is probably my “real” greatest accomplishment in life).

What is your favorite thing about working at Innoplast? It sounds cliché but we really do have a great staff that I consider a second family.  Bollard covers and parking blocks are not the most important thing in most peoples’ lives.  We are a little weird that way.  But we do have the best staff to work with, and I love it when we can solve someone’s problem, or just make their day a little easier.

Craig jams